Concert - Friday, March 10th, 2017
Heart of Hungary
Bálint Karosi: Triple Concerto for Guitar, Cimbalom, and Harp, 2015 (American premiere)
Nilko Andreas Guarin, Guitar
Nicholas Tolle, Cimbalom
Mélanie Genin, Harp
Ernő Dohnányi: Concertino for Harp and Orchestra, 1952
Mélanie Genin, Harp
Also on the program will be "Csárdás" featuring our concertmaster Susan Heerema, and the Rumanian Folk Dances by Béla Bartók, and more.
David A. Grunberg conducting.
Fri. March 10th at 7:30 PM
Saint Peter's Church
619 Lexington Ave
New York, NY 10022
(Entrance on 54th St.)
Sugessted donation of $25, or $15 for students / seniors.
Recent Press
A review of our 4/11/16 Ginastera centennial concert: "...a celebration of broad influence and far flung affinity, generous in scope and presentation. ..." Read more
Thank you Lucid Culture for the nice review of our Jan 22 concert: Read the review.
"The Spectrum Symphony ... have a lush, experienced gravitas," "rich with color and attention to dynamic shifts" Read reviews


Spectrum Symphony of New York
Recent New Music Reviews and Audio
"The orchestra had opened with the New York premiere of an even more explosive if considerably shorter piece, Philip Wharton‘s There Was a Star Danced, which followed the initial big bang resonance through rapifire showers of sparks from the violins and then what became wryly jaunty, rhythmic jousting." - LucidCulture
HEAR IT: There Was a Star Danced by Philip Wharton (NY premiere)

"By contrast, the world premiere of Jun Yi Chow’s Serenade mashed up a lively neoromantic drive, a big, acidic fanfare and an austerely otherworldly, circular string conclusion, in the process channeling a hundred years of orchestral music." - LucidCulture
HEAR IT: Serenade by JunYi Chow (world premiere)


Jan. 22, 2016 "a lustrous, workmanlike performance", "Clarinetist Vadim Lando took centerstage in a surprisingly brisk, adrenalized version of the Mozart Clarinet Concerto." Read the review

Jan. 14, 2015 "Soloist Gerard Reuter’s alternatingly dancing and richly resonant oboe fueled Mozart’s Oboe Concerto, K.314 over a lush backdrop equally infused with stateliness and joyously precise teamwork." - New York Music Daily. / Hear it on Soundcloud.

Oct. 29, 2014
"The Spectrum Symphony of New York put on a tremendous performance ... " Click to read the review.

LJOVA: Mecklenburg (revised 2014 for string orchestra, world premiere)
Brahms : Double Concerto with Artur Kaganovskiy and Miho Zaitsu, soloists.
Beethoven : Symphony no. 3 in E flat "Eroica"

Audio Samples

We have samples from our previous concerts on Soundcloud

Who We Are

Spectrum Symphony is a professional symphony orchestra whose mission is to present concerts that break down barriers between performer and audience, by presenting works of living composers alongside the classics.